Phoenix Question: What makes you an adult? Are you one?

Logo

Kim: I think it means committing to something uncertain instead of waiting for uncertainty to become clear.

Kyle: To me, it’s all about how we respond to the things that life gives us. I really think Kim said it well in her comment, but I see “adulthood” as a willingness to look at responsibility (or challenges or struggles or even things that we enjoy doing) as opportunity. Working toward being comfortable with knowing that no matter what happens, life itself is an opportunity. Or something slightly cliche like that

Mat: Kyle, I totally hear what your saying. What do you think that responsibility is that makes the distinction to you? Is it less about the actual responsibility or how we handle responsibility? One questions leading to another question aka living life.

Mat: I’ve always been scared to consider myself an adult. I think it’s because the label adult implied me having to give up something – to lose my childhood and my imagination. What are others thinking?

Jordan: When the frontal lobe fully develops, usually around age 25. I’m not sure I would assign responsibility with being an adult, but rather the ability to fully process decisions and make one’s own way, whether the decisions are “right” or “wrong”

Kyle: After visiting graduate schools, I’m pretty convinced that I’m nowhere near adulthood! I think it has less to do with age and more to do with the kinds of responsibilities and obligations you take on (or are given to you).

Stacey: An adult is someone who takes responsibility for their actions and lives congruently.

Paula: An adult knows how to channel his or her imagination. I think adulthood is the point where you have (mostly) full control over your own goals, rather than having those goals set for you (e.g., graduating grade school, graduating college, getting a driver’s license, getting a first job). I also think that, to some extent, it’s a choice: how much control will you take over your experiences?

Rachel: I’m not sure there is really much of a distinction between adulthood and youth. If anything, I would say that self-awareness and taking responsibility for one’s actions is a surer path to adulthood than being thoughtless and selfish.

Leave a Reply

